<< Back to news

Sending fins flying - Gisborne Champs 2022

23rd November 2022 Club News Dylan McNeely

DFP 4170

Photo: Imagery by Derek Fryer

On Saturday the 19th of November New Zealand's best surfers waxed their surfboards and headed to the sunny city of Gisborne for the Gisborne Surf Champs. 

People as far as Christchurch and Taranaki made the trip for an absolute stunner of a day. Up for grabs for the open mens and woman's was a whopping $2,000 prize money.


DFP 3921

Carving into the soft face for the reform - Imagery by Derek Fryer

Conditions were as good as it gets for this time of year, small but clean, meaning surfers had to keep their eyes peeled as the waves rolled in for the bigger sneaky sets. 

Open Champions

  • Maz Quinn representing Gisborne 
  • Elin Tawharu representing Mount Maunganui

Tawharu the open woman's champ said it was a really fun competition. “not as big as a normal competition heat-wise but really good”.

DFP 4916

Smashing the lip - Imagery by Derek Fryer

The competition gave the opportunity for our younger surfers to have their chance to compete against some of the best in New Zealand. 

Junior Champions

  • Tao Mouldely representing Mount Maunganui
  • Skylar McFetridge representing Taranaki 

Both Tao and Skylar demonstrated excellent surfing on the day which ultimately led to them taking home their share of their own winnings.

Check out the live stream of the event below.

Here are the final results below.

Open mens

1st - Maz Quinn

2nd - Jay Quinn

3rd - Jack Hinton

4th - Caleb Cutmore

Open Women's

1st - Elin Tawharu 

2nd - Ariana Shewry

3rd - Poppy Entwisle

4th - Leia Millar

5th - Billie Scott

Junior Girls 

1st - Skylar Mcfetridge

2nd - Leia Millar

3rd - Poppy Entwisle

4th - Bonnie Lynch

Junior Boys

1st - Tao Mouldely

2nd - Tyler Stenzel

3rd - Will Hardie

4th - Tai Murphy


1st - Ben Hutchings

2nd - John Gisby

3rd - Mike Yukich

4th - Graham Breckell

5th - Ross Moodie

Special awards

U12 Boys – Archie Alder

U14 Boys – Shea Ferguson

U16 Boys – Max Phillips

Junior Girls – Lucy McDiarmid

Over 50s – Malcolm McGregor

Over 60s – John Gisby

Open Men’s - Maz Quinn

Open Woman's - Elin Tawharu

Most Improved Surfer - Archie Alder

Club person of the year: Megan Costello (Women's Rep)

See more photos of the day on our instagram page. 
News Stories
Facebook News


GBC is grateful for the generous support of our sponsors: